Posted by: Street | July 26, 2010

You can’t run to get into shape; You have to be in shape to run!

I feel like I am banging my head against a wall as I type this because this is not the first time I’ve wrote about how distance running is the devil. I recently gave some advice to a friend of mine on facebook that is experiencing IT Band Syndrome. I saw her update on my home page, where she mentioned how much money she was spending on X-rays and Physical Therapy. The thing is, there were a couple other people who commented on her post that had said the same thing, “I had a IT Band Syndrome last year, and now I am limited to 5 miles or my legs start to hurt too much!”

Here is where the title of my post comes into play, if you are going to run, you need to be in shape. You need to be strong, and you need to have good mobility in the hips, good stability at the knees, and good mobility at the ankles. What is really confusing to me though is that poeple are running long distances with the belief that it is going to bring them a better body! If you are a competitive runner, that’s one thing, but the truth is running will not bring you the body you want, unless it comes in the form of interval training and is accompanied with a sound functional strength training program! Furthermore, with 60% of  long distance runners getting injured every year, how are you supposed to achieve your health and fitness goals while being x-rayed and going to physical therapy?

So ask yourself this question: Do I want to have an athletic looking body, with nice muscular tone, and low body fat?

If you said yes and are running long distances, ask yourself this question: Why am I running long distances?

I’ll say it again, “if you want to look like an athlete, you have to train like an athlete.”

Stay tuned for my own transformation, which starts August 1st. I’ll be combining Precision Nutrition’s Get Shredded Diet, along with a smart supplement strategy to get ripped for my upcoming wedding in October! If getting married does not motivate  you to be in great shape, I don’t know what will!

Leave a Reply

Categories

